Professor Kathleen Thelen

Kathleen Thelen is Ford Professor of Political Science at MIT.

Her work focuses on the origins and evolution of political-economic institutions in the rich democracies. Her two most recent books are Varieties of Liberalization and the New Politics of Social Solidarity (Cambridge, 2014), and Advances in Comparative Historical Analysis (with James Mahoney, Cambridge 2015).  Her awards include the Barrington Moore Book Prize (2015), the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award of the APSR (2005), the Mattei Dogan Award for Comparative Research (2006), and the Max Planck Research Award (2003). She was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2015 and to the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences in 2009.

Thelen has served as President of the American Political Science Association (2017-2018)  and Chair of the Council for European Studies (2002-2006) and as President of the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (2008-2009).  She was also President of the APSA Section on Comparative Politics Section (2011-13) and of the APSA Section on Politics and History (2007-2008).   Thelen is General Editor, along with Eric Wibbels, of the Cambridge University Press Series in Comparative Politics, and a permanent external member of the Max Planck Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung in Cologne, Germany.